The Journey Begins

Hello Everyone

This is the first blog of my life. Excuse me for my grammatical errors and bad writing skills. I hope to learn writing better and better with time and practice.

A short introduction about me

My name is Harjot Singh. I belong to Ludhiana, situated in the heart of Punjab, popularly known as India’s Manchester.

I have done my B.Tech in Production & Industrial Engineering from Guru Nanak Dev Engineering College, Ludhiana. Currently, I’m persuing my M.tech in Industrial Engineering from Punjab Engineering College(also called PEC), Chandigarh. Some of my hobbies include singing, doing Bhangra (Punjabi folk dance, I love it (Pure Punjabi Blood), playing cricket, table tennis, badminton. I love helping people, animals in every possible way I can.

Motivation behind starting to blog

So, right now it is 10:40 pm while I’m writing this and today is 16th March, 2019. I’m in Bengaluru and I’m here for my 3 months Internship (Feb-May 2019) at ABB Ability Innovation Center, Bengaluru. I’m working on a project ‘Inventory Optimization in discrete manufacturing’.

As I come from an Industrial Engineering background, I was interviewed on the basis of my knowledge in industrial engineering topics and I didn’t knew that I would be given a project which also involves use of data science/data analytics. I had a month before coming here and I had done a basic course on Python Programming with a thought that it might come handy sometime. So, I used that months time for learning basic libraries in python like pandas, matplotlib, numpy. I also did a course (https://www.udemy.com/data-analysis-with-pandas/) taught by Boris Paskhaver.

Currently, I’m working on time series forecasting using ARIMA models. We’re still working on exploratory data analysis (EDA) on the time series data. I should mention here that I have worked for 5 months at Accenture (got placed in it after my B.tech) as an Assistant Software Engineer, a job that I didn’t find very interesting. That is why I left it and started doing M.tech to explore more and stick to my area of interest.

Coming back, so currently, I am very new to data science field, but the good point is I have started loving what I do in the office. I use python and all of a sudden, I don’t hate writing codes anymore. Infact, I love it. Python is very easy to learn even when you come from a non circuital background. My project involves domain knowledge of industrial engineering and use of data analytics as a problem solving and optimization tool.

This happy and inspiring feeling of trying to explore more in data science has really increased exponentially these days, and just to explore more, I’ve just completed this course (https://www.udemy.com/careers-in-data-science-a-ztm/) taught by Kirill Eremenko and Hadelin de Ponteves.

Learning about the broadness of application of ML Algorithms and data science in general, I’m really excited to start my journey in the field of data science.

It would be very unfair not to mention the person whom I look up to, who has motivated me so much to start this learning journey, Manja Bogevic
(https://www.linkedin.com/in/manjabogicevic/ ) . If you’re reading my blog and if you don’t know about this super-women, I recommend go read her blogs, see her data science journey and come back. No one can inspire you if she can’t.

Also recently, I was lucky to come across this great human and a great mentor, Mr. Blaine Bateman (https://www.linkedin.com/in/blainebateman/), mentor at Springboard (https://www.linkedin.com/school/springboard/).
He has been one of the reasons behind my motivation. I hope to come across more like minded individuals with whom I can grow and learn and apply more.

Also thanks to my college junior Jagjeet Singh Ubhi, a passionate IT engineer, who motivated me to start writing blogs and who is a constant source of help and knowledge.

I am really excited to start this journey and I will try to keep posting my weekly progress through my blogs. If you are still thinking about starting your journey, let’s start together πŸ™‚

We’ll walk this road together, through the storm
Whatever weather, cold or warm
Just letting you know that, you’re not alone
Holla if you feel like you’ve been down the same road

Thanks for reading through and bearing with my bad writing skills.


Let’s make it happen.

How do you feel?

Join the Conversation

6 Comments

  1. Thank you for your kind words, Harjot. It’s impressive have already in your career taken chances to make changes and move to something you can love doing. Your enthusiasm makes it enjoyable to work with you.

    Blaine

    Like

  2. Good luck bro. Best things are on your way. Just grab each opportunity to learn more and more. Don’t be afraid of any failure learn from mistakes and Never repeat πŸ™‚ You are on right track. All the very best

    Like

  3. All dear best dear Harjot …. your dedication to work & hunger to gather more knowledge will take you to higher levels…. all d best .. keep it up …. πŸ‘πŸ‘

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started